Get Defense from Our First Time DUI Attorney Today
It is not uncommon for a DUI to be a person’s first brush with the law. A DUI charge is an extremely serious matter, as a conviction can tarnish someone’s reputation and potentially impose jail time. If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, it is crucial that you retain trusted legal representation from Roegiers Law to protect your freedom.
We understand that good people can sometimes find themselves in tough situations, and our firm is ready to provide the results-driven representation you need to defend you against your DUI charge. Our Martin County DUI attorneys have received various awards for their zealous advocacy and dedication, including a 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating and a prestigious AV® Preeminent Rating from Martindale-Hubbell®. With hundreds of cases handled, we are prepared to use our vast legal knowledge to maximize your chances of securing an optimal outcome for your situation.
If you have been charged with a first offense DUI, start your defense by calling (772) 266-3088 today.
Penalties for First Time DUI in Florida
Even for a first time DUI in Florida, there is a possibility for harsh legal consequences. Penalties vary based on the level of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream at the time of their arrest, if a minor was in the car, and whether they refused to submit to a chemical test.
If convicted, penalties for first time DUI in Florida can include:
- Up to 9 months in jail
- Fines up to $1,000
- License suspension up to one year
- Mandatory ignition interlock device
Additional community service may also be required, along with the completion of alcohol/substance abuse assessments and treatment. If you are facing these charges, it is highly recommended that you consult with an experienced Stuart, Florida DUI lawyer from our firm as soon as possible to determine the most strategically appropriate course of action to pursue.
Florida Implied Consent
The state of Florida upholds implied consent law. This means that all drivers who are arrested for driving under the influence have already consented to a breath, blood or urine test. If you refuse you could face additional penalties.
Possible penalties for refusal:
- First Offense – One-year license revocation
- Second Offense or more – A misdemeanor charge with a 18 month license revocation, up to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 maximum fine.
If you have refused a breath or blood test, it is important that you speak to a DUI attorney. At Roegiers Law, we are prepared to protect your rights.
Our First Time DUI Attorneys Are Available to Discuss Your Case
You do not have to face your DUI charge alone. Our knowledgeable legal professionals will treat you with respect and dignity, and we are prepared to do everything we can to seek to have your charges dropped or reduced. You are innocent until proven guilty, and our Stuart criminal defense attorneys are ready to stand by your side during this difficult time.